Who is Not Eligible for Zakat: A Simple Guide for Bangladesh

Who is Not Eligible for Zakat: A Simple Guide for Bangladesh

Zakat is one of the Five Pillars of Islam. It is a mandatory form of charity that every Muslim who meets certain criteria must give to those in need. In Bangladesh, zakat plays a crucial role in helping the less fortunate.

However, not everyone is eligible to receive zakat. Knowing who is not eligible is just as important as knowing who is, to ensure that this charitable giving fulfills its religious purpose correctly.

Understanding Zakat

Before diving into who is not eligible, let’s briefly understand what zakat is. Zakat is a religious obligation, often translated as “that which purifies.” It requires Muslims who have accumulated wealth above a certain threshold, known as nisab, to give a portion of their wealth, typically 2.5%, to specific categories of people.

Categories of People Eligible for Zakat

To understand who is not eligible, it helps to first know who can receive zakat. According to Islamic teachings, the eligible recipients of zakat fall into eight categories:

  • The Poor : Those who do not have enough income to meet their basic needs.
  • The Needy : Those who are in a slightly better position than the poor but still need help.
  • Zakat Collectors : Those appointed to collect and distribute zakat.
  • Reconciliation of Hearts : Those who have recently embraced Islam or need help to strengthen their faith.
  • Freeing Captives: Those who are enslaved or in bondage.
  • Debtors: Those who are in debt and unable to repay their debts.
  • In the Path of Allah: Those striving in the cause of Allah, which includes various forms of charity and public welfare.
  • Wayfarers: Travelers who are stranded and in need of financial assistance.

Who is Not Eligible for Zakat

Now that we know who can receive zakat, let’s explore who cannot. Knowing this ensures that zakat reaches those who truly need it and fulfills its purpose as prescribed in Islam.

The Wealthy and Financially Stable

The primary aim of zakat is to support those in need. Therefore, anyone who has sufficient wealth to meet their own needs and the needs of their dependents is not eligible for zakat. This includes:

Who is Not Eligible for Zakat A Simple Guide for Bangladesh
  • The Rich: Individuals with wealth above the nisab threshold.
  • Financially Stable Individuals: Those who have a steady income and can comfortably cover their living expenses without needing additional support.


Zakat is a specifically Islamic form of charity meant to support the Muslim community. While non-Muslims can receive other forms of charity (sadaqah), they are not eligible for zakat. This distinction helps to maintain the communal support structure within Islam.

Direct Descendants of the Prophet Muhammad (SAW)

The descendants of the Prophet Muhammad (SAW), known as Sayyids or Hashemites, are not allowed to receive zakat. This is because zakat is considered a form of purification for the giver’s wealth, and it is believed that the family of the Prophet should not receive such wealth. Instead, they are encouraged to rely on other forms of support.

Immediate Family Members

You cannot give zakat to your immediate family members who are under your financial responsibility. This includes:

  • Parents and Grandparents: You are obligated to support your parents and grandparents if they are in need.
  • Children and Grandchildren: Likewise, you must support your children and grandchildren.
  • Spouses: You are responsible for the financial support of your spouse.

Why These Groups Are Not Eligible

Understanding why these groups are not eligible for zakat helps to grasp the wisdom behind these rules.

Supporting the Most Needy

The primary purpose of zakat is to alleviate poverty and support those who are most in need. By excluding the wealthy and financially stable, zakat ensures that resources are directed towards those who cannot meet their basic needs.

Maintaining Community Integrity

By limiting zakat to Muslims, Islam aims to strengthen the bonds within the Muslim community. This does not mean non-Muslims are neglected, as other forms of charity can and should be extended to them. However, zakat serves as a specific support mechanism for Muslims.

Respecting the Prophet’s Lineage

The descendants of the Prophet Muhammad (SAW) hold a special place in Islam. By prohibiting them from receiving zakat, Islam maintains their dignity and encourages the Muslim community to support them in other ways.

Ensuring Family Responsibility

Immediate family members are a primary responsibility. Islam emphasizes the importance of family ties and the duty to support one’s relatives. By excluding immediate family members from zakat eligibility, Islam reinforces the principle that family members must take care of each other.

Other Considerations and Misconceptions

Who is Not Eligible for Zakat Simple Guide for Bangladesh

Temporary Financial Hardships

Individuals who usually are financially stable but face temporary hardships may still be eligible for zakat during their time of need. It is essential to evaluate the current financial situation rather than past or future stability.

Mixed Incomes

In some cases, individuals might have a mixed income where part of their earnings is sufficient while other parts are not. In such scenarios, assessing overall financial stability is crucial to determine zakat eligibility.

Avoiding Abuse of Zakat

Ensuring zakat is not given to those who are not eligible helps prevent abuse of this charitable system. It is vital to be mindful and discerning when distributing zakat to ensure it reaches the intended recipients.

Practical Steps for Distributing Zakat

To ensure your zakat is given correctly, follow these practical steps:

  • Calculate Your Zakat: Determine the amount you need to give based on your wealth above the nisab threshold.
  • Identify Eligible Recipients: Use the eight categories to identify who can receive your zakat. Make sure they genuinely need the assistance.
  • Verify Eligibility: Confirm that the recipient is eligible and not part of the groups mentioned above who cannot receive zakat.
  • Distribute Wisely: Ensure that your zakat reaches the recipient in a manner that benefits them most. This could be through direct cash assistance, paying off their debts, or providing necessary goods and services.
  • Maintain Records: Keep a record of your zakat distribution to ensure transparency and accountability.


Zakat is a powerful tool for social justice and community support within Islam. By understanding who is not eligible for zakat, you can ensure your charity reaches those who need it most and fulfills its religious purpose.

In Bangladesh, where poverty and need are still prevalent, correctly distributing zakat can make a significant difference in many lives. Always strive to be mindful and responsible in your zakat giving, upholding the values and teachings of Islam.

Leave A Comment

Your Comment
All comments are held for moderation.